Food for thought

[Daily Post: Day 22]

A friend posted this earlier today.  I thought it fit very well with what I blogged about yesterday and felt it necessary to write about it today.

I’m starting to see more clearly that its not life’s situations that MAKE us happy, sad, lonely etc..its how we choose to react to them.  We can blame people, things, this world, even God for our so called “problems” but I really do think it comes down to us.  Will we choose to find the beauty in this life, and be brave enough to go out and find it?  I guess that comes down to you.  Because the truth is friend, you are beautiful, in every sense.  A creation, magnificent and unique with the capacity to change this world.  The world is too proud to admit it, but you were MADE to change it, not just to deal with it.  Don’t be afraid to be who you were meant to be.

He’s right.  I think we spend too much time trying to make ourselves feel bad (and trying to make others feel bad for us too).  We (I) tend to look for reasons to be angry, or sad, or whatever else.  Why is it that we gravitate towards these negative feelings?  We willingly put ourselves in these situations…all the while hoping someone will come along to save us, or help fix our problems.  The truth is, as far as I’m concerned, that I won’t be happy unless I let myself be.  My pastor this past week spoke about how his wife and him tell each other “count your blessings” each time one of these starts to get angry and forgets to look at the positive side of things.  For a long time, I felt like nothing was going the way I had hoped.  I was constantly angry, or sad, or resentful, but now I am trying to constantly remind myself to count my blessings.  There are a lot of great things in my life right now.  I’m lucky really.  Even though there might be some crap going on, I know I can work through that.  I’m a tough person, and can take pretty much anything, but I forget how to fight back sometimes.  Hopefully, that’s changing.  Only time will tell.

“Most people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” – Abraham Lincoln

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” – Groucho Marx

“Hope is itself a species of happiness, and perhaps, the chief happiness which this world affords.” – Samuel Johnson

“If you want to be happy, set a goal that commands your thoughts, liberates your energy, and inspires your hopes.” – Andrew Carnegie


~ by Chile on 25. January. 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
