Music Mondays (Vol. 2)

Harry Connick Jr.

Harry Connick Jr.

Oh how I love him.  I first heard him perform on a daytime talk show back when I was 15 or so.  I was hooked ever since.  If I had to pick only one celebrity crush, it would be him.  It is kind of ironic that I choose to write about him today because I went to his website and realized that he comes out with a new vinyl tomorrow titled “Your Song”.  Once I have a listen I will let you know what I think.  Although I’m sure I will love it.  🙂

Originally from New Orleans and currently residing in New York, Harry has been performing since the age of 5.  Since then, he has become a huge success with over 25 albums.  Not only has he become an accomplished musician, but he has also become an accomplished actor in film, television, and even musicals.  He has received plenty of awards, including Grammy’s.

He has a very eclectic style of music, which is one of the many reasons why I love listening to him.  His music is very creative, both original compositions and arrangements.  You will definitely not get bored listening to him…if anything, there is something for everyone.  If you don’t like one thing, you might like another.  I never get tired listening to him…heck, I was just listening to on of his Christmas songs earlier today.  His music has  unique flare that I have failed to find in most other artists.  One of my other favorite things about him is his piano work.  It always makes me wish I could play the piano the way he does.  I will listen to his piano solos in a song over and over again.  It is always fun to listen to his songs because you can hear how much fun they are all having, and it just makes the music that much better.

If you’ve never heard any of his music, I highly encourage you to do so, and let me know what you think.  What I have written doesn’t do him justice.  Anyway, go check him out.

And as they say in New Orleans, “Laissez les bonne temps roulez”, let the good times roll.

~ by Chile on 24. August. 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
