God’s Wheel

GOD says to me with a kind
of smile, “Hey how would you like
to be God awhile And steer the world?”
“Okay,” says I, “I’ll give it a try.

Where do I set?
How much do I get?
What time is lunch?
When can I quit?”

“Gimme back that wheel,” says GOD.
“I don’t think you’re quite ready YET.”

>>I came across this Shel Silverstein poem earlier today, and it made me smile.  It made me smile because it reminded me that everything is in God’s hands.  Things may not be working out right now the way we had planned, but I can smile because I’m not steering that wheel.  All I can do right now is pray and know that my God is much bigger than any problems that may arise.  God has blessed me in ways I do not deserve, and for that I am thankful.

So often we find ourselves fighting for control over our lives.  Things may not be going the way we planned, relationships may be falling apart, jobs may not be working out, but we should always remember that we cannot do anything on our own.  He is mightier and more powerful than anything and anyone.

I recently had a conversation with a friend who basically said that he was shutting everyone out.  He told me he doesn’t trust anyone, doesn’t love anyone, doesn’t need anyone, and certainly does not need pitty from anyone.  It made me sad to think that I can’t help him.  I never did anything to hurt him (at least I don’t think I did), but however he was hurt or betrayed, it was enough to make him think that he needs to put a guard up.  If you know me, I do not like seeing my friends hurt.  I’d like to be there for them, even if it means sitting in silence.  It has been bugging me these last few days, but the best I can do right now is pray for him.  Hopefully he will come to realize that there are people who still care about and love him.

Things have also been rough in my family.  My dad was let go from his job because he was too expensive to keep around.  How ridiculous is it that if you don’t have any experience, you can’t get a job, and if you have too much experience, you can’t keep a job?  So right now we’re both fighting, trying to find jobs so that we can keep on living.  I know…us and the rest of the country too…but the best I can do right now is pray.  I know everything will be alright eventually.

Let’s just hope that I can always be reminded of this poem…because I don’t think I will ever be ready to steer that wheel…

~ by Chile on 23. April. 2009.

2 Responses to “God’s Wheel”

  1. Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I will definitely be subscribing to your site.

  2. Thanks! I hope you will remember this poem…I certainly need to keep reminding myself of it!

Leave a Reply

 
