Looking Back

Another year has come to an end. It’s crazy to think how fast time flies. One minute you’re wondering how the year couldn’t end quick enough, and the next minute you’re wondering where it all went. I still remember the first time I was actually aware that a new year was approaching.

It was 1992 and I was in Ms. Kreins second grade class. Somehow I probably heard from someone or somewhere that 1993 was approaching, because almost everyday I would ask Ms Krein if it was 1993 yet. Everyday she would reply, “No, not yet. I will let you know when though”. I was getting pretty impatient, because I didn’t know how you would be able to tell that it was a new year. Eventually I didn’t ask as much, but one day, I guess it was 1993. I don’t remember if I stayed up on New Years Even that year, but I do remember all the asking of when it was coming.

Now it’s a bit less than 11 hours away from 2009, and I can only think about where my year has gone. I figured I’d make a list of the good, the bad, and a few regrets. Looking back on yet another year is surreal, and I can only hope that I will actually learn from it all.

GOOD

  • Fort Night with friends
  • Finding out my sis-in-law was pregnant again (a boy!)
  • Finding out my oldest sister was pregnant too! (a girl!)
  • Seeing my classmates graduate (my turn would come…)
  • Kelsey leaving for the Peace Corps in Niger
  • Driving up to Chico with Geoff to surprise Kelsey
  • Going to the Hollywood Bowl
  • Solidifying new (and old) friendships
  • SEEING RINGO STARR IN CONCERT!!!
  • Getting to watch my niece grow…celebrating her 2nd birthday.
  • Walking around late at night and talking with friends (and making fun of the freshman)
  • Graduating!!! (mostly)
  • Epic Music Under the Stars night.
  • Driving up to the Canyon with friends (and watching movies!)
  • Surprise farewell party for Kelsey
  • Rock Band & Guitar Hero
  • Flight of the Conchords 6 hour marathon!
  • My Sr. Recital!
  • My sister coming for my graduation
  • Late night talks with friends
  • Movie/game nights

BAD

  • Failing Sr. Sem…again.
  • Family issues
  • Kelsey leaving for Niger
  • Losing a friend for his bad decisions and mistreating another friend.
  • Not knowing what to do with my life
  • Knowing that I’ve messed things up for myself…again.
  • Still not getting good grades
  • Having to reschedule my recital…twice…because I wasn’t ready.
  • My brother not coming to my recital
  • Paying for school
  • Parent troubles
  • Not having a job…becoming the jobless child no parent wants

REGRETS

  • Not managing my time well
  • Failing Sr. Sem…again
  • Not being the responsible person I know I could be.
  • Letting professors down.
  • Not spending enough time with God

Well there you go. That’s pretty much all I can think about at the moment. I hope you can all look back at this past year and smile, because even though it’s been a rough year for me, I know that all the little memories make up for all the bad.

Best wishes to everyone and Happy New Year!!!

~ by Chile on 31. December. 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
