I’m an Adult Now?

For the first time in my life, I never have to go back to school if I don’t want to.

This past Saturday, December 13, 2008, I became a graduate of Azusa Pacific University. Ok, so I still have once class to retake, because I suck at writing papers…but after that, I will officially have a Bachelor of Music in Violin Performance! WooHoo!!!

I had the privilege of walking with some of the greatest people ever. There were 8 other music majors that walked together with me. I must say, it was one of the most fun and entertaining days of my life. What other majors do you know will sing the pomp & circumstance as they walk in in Solfege (Do Re Mi…)? None. That’s what we do…and we didn’t care. It’s hard to explain how we felt that day, especially as we were walking in. We were anxious, excited, nervous, sad, delirious from not sleeping that week, tired, hyper, you name it.

It was surreal, walking across that stage to receive our diplomas. Ever since my freshman year I have been waiting till my graduation day so that I could take a self portrait with my school President as I was receiving my diploma. So as I was walking up on stage, I got my camera ready, shook Jon Wallace’s hand, then took the picture. I thought it hadn’t worked, but it did, and it’s one of my favorite pictures of the entire day.

It felt so great to finally have the diploma in my hands. Ok, it’s a fake, and I won’t receive my real diploma until I finish this last class, but that’s it. As I was sitting there, next to Hannah, Teryn, and the rest of the music majors, I couldn’t sit still. We were so excited and happy. We were one of the first people to walk up (the undergrads), so it was fun to see the rest of our classmates walk and cheer them on.

It was a great day and it’s a bit odd to think that we all finally graduated. You always see everyone else graduate, but when it happens to you, it’s always a bit more weird.  I would not have been able to do any of this with the wonderful help of family, friends, and God.  Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers as I go on into another chapter of my life.

I guess now I’m supposedly a professional AND an adult. haha. Now to go find a job and get into the music business…

Receiving my dimploma Finally!

My Niece

Yay!!! Music Majors Dec. 2008

~ by Chile on 19. December. 2008.

2 Responses to “I’m an Adult Now?”

  1. Congratulations!!! I’m so proud of you, and I love the wallace pic!!

  2. Haha….thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
