Relationships

It’s been a long time since I last wrote.  School started and life got crazy again.  A lot has happened, but for now, I will copy and paste a note I wrote on Facebook a few days ago.  Think about it, comment or discuss if you’d like, but at least try and remember what I’m going to say.

This has been on my mind for several months, but I haven’t really said anything until now. This is mostly to my group of friends, but I think it is important for all of us to be aware of it and keep it in mind when spending time with your own friends. So I’ll just get straight to the point.

We need to be more spiritually involved in each others lives.

We spend so much time together, and most of the time it’s not spent growing spiritually with each other. I’m not saying that we never do, but there is so much we can learn about each other through God that we don’t really ever do. Instead of relying on each others own opinions and advice, I think we need to remember to look to God. God put all of you in my life, and each others lives for a reason. I’ve heard time and time again, that where we may fall short, is not being satisfied with our relationship with God because we don’t feel Him, we don’t see Him, we don’t hear Him. But what we have to remember is that God isn’t just in any one particular place, but he is in everything around us. So don’t you think that it goes to say that each one of us brings a different side of Christ into our relationships with each other? I have to admit that I’ve forgotten this many times, and often need to remind myself that I can only expect so much out of each one of you. But I know that I learn different things from each one of you and I have different conversations with all of you.

I will be honest…I get very frustrated sometimes with relationships/friendships that I feel are one-sided (this isn’t necessarily limited to just those I tagged). Maybe it goes back to expecting too much out of people, or maybe it’s because I don’t open myself up to you guys. Whatever it is, how can we expect to be the kind of support we all need from each other without being willing to be completely honest and vulnerable? I strongly feel as though we can learn so much and help each other grow spiritually if we let ourselves get past the superficial things.

Matthew 18:15-16 & 20 help explain what I’m trying to say:
“If your brother sins against you, go and show him his fault, just between the two of you. If he listens to you, you have won your brother over. But if he will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.”
“Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven. For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.

It’s that last part of that passage that I’m thinking about the most. And not to say that the other verses aren’t important, they are, heck that entire chapter is really good too. The point I’m trying to make is that we need to remember to be spiritually involved with one another. If we have a problem with someone, tell them. And if you’re the person receiving the message, don’t be offended. It’s the part were we are completely honest that helps us grow the most. With some of you I’ve been able to get past that, and I cherish those relationships. I’m not saying that we all have to be best friends, but I am saying that we need to remember that we are all brothers and sisters in Christ. Let’s try and keep that in mind and remember, “God First”. It’s not just a cheesy school motto that we make fun of sometimes (a lot).

So how about the next time we hang out, let’s be a little more vulnerable and willing to have spiritual and theological discussions? Instead of trying to take of things on our own, or laughing at the latest “That’s what she said” joke, let remember that we are brothers and sisters. We have a big influence on each other and are all a part of the others life. I realize I’m saying this the day some of us are gonna hang out and laugh our butts off at two guys singing about random things…but I’m just trying to make a point. Let’s just try and be a bit more spiritually active in each others lives. Yeah? Yeah.

I also want ALL of you to know how much I care about you. I pray for all of you, maybe not every day, but I do. I see where some of you are hurting or having trouble, and I truly empathize. Know that I am always willing to listen, whether you need to vent or just need to think through things. I may not seem approachable, because I have a hard time opening up as well, but I am here for you. I care about you and your lives. Let’s just try and remember that our relationships with each other (I’ve said that a lot in this note…) are what impact us the most and where we learn the most. So let’s make use of the friendships we have now, before we all grow up. :o)

One last thing…promise!

To my sisters: Can we stop getting mad at each other for whatever reason…and never talking to each other about it? As girls we can be the most cruel with each other…that’s not right. We need to lift each other up, protect each other, encourage each other. Let’s not take offense to those times when we really tell each other how we’re feeling either. We also have to be mindful of how we act around our brothers when we’re in groups, what you do in private is your own business. Frankly, it’s annoying and somewhat disappointing when the rest of us have to be around it and see it. Because, always remember that you ARE worth fighting for, you ARE worth pursuing. You are all beautiful in different ways, and you don’t have to throw yourselves at anyone to get their attention. Be the women that God wants you to be.

To my brothers: I think you, as men of God, have a much more important impact on us than you may realize. If you let us play games with you, we will. Don’t be afraid to keep us accountable, and respectable women of God. If we start flirting too much and you get annoyed, tell us! We are all guilty of it and often forget or don’t realize what we are doing. And don’t feel like you can’t give us compliments because it could be taken to mean something else. It means a lot to us (me) to know that I have men/brothers who encourage me and make me feel special. Be the men that God wants you to be.

~ by Chile on 17. November. 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
