The Way

The Way – by Jon McLaughlin

I’m caught in a new trend, it’s in the air
I’m caught in a new trend but I know you’re somewhere
Looking at me and what I’ve turned out to be
Thinking if I’d just look around I’d see

Maybe I need some new friends and I’d turn for good
If I just had the right friends then maybe I could
Find some peace and no one could see
Underneath I’m just torn and empty

What I need is for someone to take my place
I’ve grown tired of falling on my face
But Who really cares about this mess I’ve made
Let Him be the way

To get me a new life and start again
‘Cause if I just had a new life I’d put to an end
This feeling of guilt if I could be still
And know He’s Lord and I’m in His will

If I was just in the right place from time to time
If I had just done the right thing and stayed in line
Then in between the songs we sing
I’d have no memories that haunt me

So I sing of a Savior to take my place
I’ve grown tired of falling on my face
But Who really cares about this mess I’ve made

Let Him be the way
To all that I want to do
And I’m not letting go of His truth
‘Cause no matter what the mess He’ll see me through
Let Him be the way

And If I could stop just what I’m doing For one second listen to Him
Maybe I’d stop seeking my solutions In new friends and new trends And I could see that what I need is someone to take my place

what I need is for someone to take my place I’ve grown tired of fallin on my face but who really cares about this mess I’ve made
Let Him be the way To all that I wanna do And I’m not letting go of His truth ‘Cause no matter what the mess He’ll see me through
let Him be the way
let Him be the way

I can’t really explain how much of an impact this song has made on me lately…but I feel like I need to write some stuff down. You could say that this song is my new personal anthem…if such a thing existed. There is so much to it that I could elaborate on, so who knows what I’ll end up saying or how personal it’ll be. Bottom line, I’m putting myself out there…which isn’t easy for me.

This song kinda says it all for me at the moment. Simply put, I’m tired of falling on my face. Certain situations just keep repeating themselves, over and over…and over again. I get so caught up in all the unimportant things that I loose sight of letting Him be the way. It’s funny how true I’ve made the second half of the first verse – the one that starts off with “Maybe I need some new friends…” On the outside, I’m always hoping that people don’t see how I really am on the inside. So it’s great to be around new people who don’t know me all that well. Cause I can be who I wish I were…you know? With the people I’m always around, even for the ones that I can trust more than others, it’s really hard to let them see what’s really going on and how I really feel. As much as I’d like to let people know what I think and how they may or may not be hurting me, I can’t. Point is, I’m always hoping that the “right friends” would come along and be able to help me fix everything and I’m never sure who really cares. What if I did get to have a new life and start again, would I know what not to do? Would things really be all that different? Maybe I WOULD realize that He’s Lord and let Him always lead the way. Maybe I’d be able to do things the right way, or a better way, and I wouldn’t feel so bad.

I’ve grown tired of falling on my face.

Over, and over again.

I think the section of this song that impacts me the most is the part that says, “And if I could just stop for one second…” I guess it’s the bridge? It’s so hard to just stop and listen to Him. Lately though, I’ve been realizing how much He’s breaking me down. I’m trying not to only rely on friends to help me out. It’s hard though, because in trying to NOT seek solutions in my friends and letting Him be the way, I forget about the fact that I still needs a friend or two to help me out. I know He works through those around us…but sometimes I forget that and feel like I need to shut myself off from my friends, because I’m not giving enough time to Him. I don’t know…my thoughts are still rambled. Plus, it doesn’t help that I’m afraid of asking for help. So I guess that’s why I’m using this to kind of get things off of my mind. I could go into more detail, but I’m not sure I really want to or feel like it at the moment.

I think one of the main points why I relate to this song so much is that it reminds me that there IS someone who has already taken my place. Someone who really does care and can help me, more than anyone or anything ever will.

My Savior has taken my place…and he’s taken yours. No matter how much we fall on our face, He will always be there, He will always care. Let Him be the way…He IS the way.

~ by Chile on 15. July. 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
