Chico…Crazy Kids

So this past weekend I got to drive up to Chico with Jeffe to visit Kelsey, and also see Celebration who happened to be up in the area, particularly Corinne. We left around 5 in the morning…yeah I know, super early…but we wanted to beat traffic, and we totally did too. We got into Chico around 1. Kelsey worked till 2:30, so we just hung around in her house. We DID get a bit bored, so what better thing to do than to look through all of Kelsey’s yearbooks and take pictures of it?

7th grade

These are just two of many that we took…haha. We also managed to take a few pictures of two of our other friends from APU who are also from Chico. We had a lot of laughs…it was totally worth it. Anyway, Geoff happens to have a friend who is living in Chico, so he came over and hung out with us for a bit as well. Around 2:30, Kelsey calls me and said she’s on her way home really quick. But, the thing was that Kelsey didn’t know Geoff was coming up as well…she thought it was just me. The whole drive up I had convinced her it was just me, so if she called, we had to stop so that she wouldn’t know that I was driving in a convertible. I also had convinced her that my dad had lent me his GPS system, so I knew exactly how to get there, but in reality we were using Geoff navigator on his phone. Anyway, we also couldn’t let her see Geoff’s car when she came home, but she was expecting to see mine. So when she called saying that she was coming home, I told her I was out trying to find something to eat. That way, she wouldn’t expect to see my car anyway, and she wouldn’t see Geoff’s car that we had hidden at the neighbors across the way (whom I had stayed with on tour, so I knew them). It totally worked too…cause when she walked in the front door she jumped at seeing both of us there, waiting for her. It was pretty awesome. Except I wish I could’ve gone as a surprise as well…didn’t think it was fair that only Geoff could, but whatever, this way Kelsey didn’t make other plans and was able to hang out with us all weekend.

From there we went to Mr. Pickles and got some sandwiches. Kelsey had to go muck the stall for her mom’s horse, so while we waited, we walked over to Schubert’s and got some ice cream. It was a perfect day for it too. Once Kelsey came back and picked us up, we went back to her house. Chris, Geoff’s friend, left at that point, and the three of us headed out to Redding to see Corinne & Celebration! When we got there, I called Corinne and she came running outside to meet us. It was so refreshing to see her again. We both almost started crying because we were so happy to see each other. We had a great group hug…and then we headed inside to where the rest of the team was eating. The concert was amazing, and I got to take pictures with Jessie’s camera, which is a pretty nice camera, so I had lots of fun. 🙂 Here are a few…

Well, we spent the rest of the night there, got a hotel room to stay in, so that we could spend the entire night with Corinne. Jessie & Nate also ended up hanging out with us, so that was fun. We went over to a park/lake and spent some time there and then just crashed back at the hotel. Next morning we said our goodbyes and then headed back to Chico. We got some great sandwiches for lunch and then headed to Bidwell Park to swim in the river. It was a long drive to get to the swimming hole we were going to, and the walk down was even more interesting, especially not really knowing which way was the best way. We finally found a spot, ate our sandwiches, and went swimming. Well, Geoff didn’t, but Kelsey, her dog Guss, & I did. It was cold at first, but it felt great. Soon after though, it started sprinkling and thundering, so we figured it would be best if we just left before we got stuck there. Later, I went and mucked stalls with Kels, which I had never done before, so that was fun…I guess. lol. It was fun hanging out with just Kels for a bit. That night we went to Jon & Bon’s to get frozen yogurt. But!!! Best story ever!!! When we parked, we all got out of the car, and Geoff & I locked our doors after Kelsey nagging us and making sure we did. But once we had, Geoff noticed that the car was still on…

Yep, Kelsey had locked her keys in her car…with the ignition still running! hahahahahahaha

We had a great laugh about it…and of course we will never let her forget it. We finally got keys from her Dad and went on our way. We lost a lot of time with that though. lol. From there, Kels took me to the “Echo Spot”. It was awesome! Any music major will appreciate it. It’s a spot under some trees, facing a brick building and in a certain spot, when you speak, your voice is amplified…now that I think about it, I’m not sure why it’s called the echo spot…haha. It was awesome though! I didn’t wanna leave. lol. We went to see “Get Smart” though which was fun. Then we went back to Bidwell Park, and Kels & I played with these giant chimes in the park. It was awesome! After that, we went to a school playground and swung on the swings for a bit. We got home and just watched Scrubs for the rest of the night, waiting for Kelsey’s mom to get back from the airport. I was really tired by the time I went to bed. The next morning, we really didn’t do anything, Kels & I just went and had breakfast with her mom and her friend while Geoff went to Red Bluff to hang out with Chris and his family. I almost lost my phone though that morning. Kels & I had stopped by a bar to visit her best friend Lauren…(they were there watching the Italy vs. Spain soccer game)…and then I realized I couldn’t find it. Luckily, it was at the cafe we had gone too. Anyway, Geoff FINALLY came back around 3, so we managed to leave town around 4…which was way later than I had hoped, because I still had to get picked up…but Jeffe wanted to spend time with his friend. It was a long drive back, but we finally made it back.

For what it was worth…I had fun and I’m glad I was able to go. I felt more like a 3rd wheel by the end of it…but that’s a different story you would have to ask me about. Anyway, It’s taken me a long time to write this, but I’m finally done. It was great to be able to go outta town for the weekend.

~ by Chile on 2. July. 2008.

3 Responses to “Chico…Crazy Kids”

  1. Whoa fun! So where are the yearbook photos of the other kiddos of chico?!

  2. Look at my facebook photo album called “I ❤ Chico”. :o)

  3. I love you. I miss Kelsey and I get to see you sunday! I am so excited!

Leave a Reply

 
